Navigate Up
Sign In

Conference of the Parties

The Conference of the Parties (COP) is established by the Convention as the supreme decision-making body, and it comprises all Parties to the Convention. The first five sessions of the COP were held annually from 1997 to 2001. Starting 2001 sessions are held on a biennial basis.

The COP has two subsidiary bodies

The Committee on Science and Technology (CST)  was established under Article 24 of the Convention as a platform for scientific collaboration under the UNCCD.
The Committee for the Review of the Implementation of the Convention (CRIC) was established at COP 5 in 2001. It is a standing subsidiary body to assist in regularly reviewing the implementation of the Convention.
The ten-year Strategy to enhance the implementation of the Convention defines the focus areas of both subsidiary bodies for the period 2008-2018.  

Quick access