Sign In


 Summary Links


Status of ratification

The United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) was adopted in June 1994. During the time it was open for signature, from October 1994 to October 1995, it received 115 signatures. Signatories need to ratify the Convention to bring it into force for them. Non-signatory States have the option of acceding to the Convention at any time.
The UNCCD entered into force on 26 December 1996, 90 days after the fiftieth instrument of Ratification or Accession was deposited. For a party acceding the Convention after this date the Convention will enter into force 90 days after this party has deposited its instrument of Ratification, Accession or Acceptance.
This provides the complete list of Signatory States and Parties to the Convention. The running number in the left side column is assigned only to States or Regional Economic Integration Organizations such as the European Community which have already ratified, acceded or accepted the Convention.



The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria does not consider itself bound by the provisions of article 28, paragraph 2, of the [said Convention], to the effect that any dispute must be submitted to the International Court of Justice.
The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria declares that for a dispute submitted to the International Court of Justice, the consent of both parties will be necessary in each case.
"The Republic of Austria declares in accordance with article 28 of the Convention that it accepts both of the means of dispute in paragraph 2 as compulsory in relation to any Party accepting an obligation concerning one or both of these means of dispute settlement."
"The Republic of Guatemala declares that, in respect of any dispute concerning the interpretation or application of the Convention, it recognizes arbitration in accordance with procedures adopted by the Conference of the Parties in an annex as soon as practicable as a means of dispute settlement, compulsory in relation to any Party accepting the same obligation. This declaration shall remain in force until three months after written notice of its revocation has been deposited with the Depositary."
With respect to the State of Kuwait, any additional regional implementation annex or any amendment to any regional implementation annex shall enter into force only upon the deposit of its instrument of ratification or accession with respect thereto.
"The Kingdom of the Netherlands declares, in accordance with paragraph 2 of article 28 of [the said Convention] that it accepts both means of dispute settlement referred to in that paragraph as compulsory in relation to any party accepting one or both of these means of dispute settlement."

 Territorial Exclusion: "... consistent with the constitutional status of Tokelau and taking into account its commitment to the development of self-government through an act of self-determination under the Charter of the United Nations, this ratification shall not extend to Tokelau unless and until a Declaration to this effect is lodged by the Government of New Zealand with the Depository on the basis of appropriate consultation with that territory;"



For the Kingdom in Europe.

 For the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the British Virgin Islands, St. Helena and Ascension Island. Subsequently, on 24 December 1996, the Government of the United Kingdom notified the Secretary-General that the Convention would apply to Montserrat.​



Quick access

  • Prais
  • UNCCD Capacity Building Marketplace