2021 Land for Life Award Jury

The Land for Life Award is designed to reward impactful holistic approaches and practices that address the ecological and the social aspects of sustainable land management as a means of achieving land degradation neutrality.

The Award is given to most diverse changemakers engaged in land restoration and conservation through exemplary and innovative initiatives. Beyond creating a positive impact on land, past winners have been recognized for their positive influence on individual lives, communities and society at large.

This year’s theme "Healthy Land, Healthy Lives" invites recommended candidates to reflect on land as part of the solution, during and after the COVID-19 crisis for a green and sustainable recovery. Potential candidates are called to share their stories and actions of combating land degradation and desertification or mitigating the effects of. Recommended candidates will be asked to highlight how their social, economic and ecological spheres of life affect each other. They will highlight how their actions improve our relationship with nature and promote well-being of their communities.

The UNCCD 2021 Land for Life Award Jury members are:

Helmy Abouleish Pablo Andrés Motta Delgado Gustavo A. B. da Fonseca Juliet Luwedde Global Youth Caucus on Land and Desertification UN MGCY Uganda

Helmy Abouleish
Chief Executive Officer
SEKEM Initiative


Pablo Andres Motta Delgado
Projects Director
Mision Verde Amazonia

Gustavo A. B. da Fonseca
Director of Programs
Global Environment Facility


Juliet Luwedde
Global Youth Caucus on Land and Desertification
UN MGCY Uganda


Wanjira Mathai Tony Renaudo Alexandra Wandel Linxiu Zhang

Wanjira Mathai
Vice President and Regional Director for Africa
World Resources Institute

Tony Rinaudo
2013 Land4Life Award winner Senior Climate Action Advisor
World Vision

Alexandra Wandel
Executive Director
World Future Council


Linxiu Zhang