This block type should be used in "unccd one column" section with "Full width" option enabled

Responsibilities and tasks

Following paragraph 9 of the terms of reference of the Committee on Science and Technology (CST), as contained in decision 15/COP.1, the Bureau of the CST is responsible for the follow-up of the work of the CST between sessions of the Conference of the Parties (COP).

The COP has also assigned the CST Bureau with direct responsibility for the implementation of the CST work plan, and attainment of its objectives.
Officers of the Bureau

The CST Bureau is composed of the Chairperson and four Vice-Chairpersons, among them a Rapporteur. The members of the Bureau are appointed with due regard to geographical representation and following the principle of rotation among the regional groups recognized by the practices of the United Nations.

The election of officers of the CST Bureau is ruled by decision 25/COP.10 which amended rule 31 of the rules of procedures contained in decision 1/COP.1. Pursuant to this decision, the Vice-Chairpersons of the CST are elected at the final meeting of the session of the CST held in conjunction with the sessions of the COP, and assume their office immediately.

The Chairperson of the CST is elected at the end of each ordinary session of the COP.

Reports of the CST Bureau meetings