This block type should be used in "unccd one column" section with "Full width" option enabled

Euro-Mediterranean Information System on know-how in the Water sector (EMWIS)

Reporting entity
water management
Registration required
Registration not required
Website's languages





EMWIS is an initiative of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership. It provides a strategic tool for exchanging information and knowledge in the water sector between and within the Euro Mediterranean partnership countries

All the countries involved in the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM) are concerned:

  • The 27 EU member states of the EU 
  • The 16 Mediterranean Partner Countries (Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Egypt, Jordan, Israel, Lebanon, Mauritania, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Palestinian Authority, Syria, Tunisia, Türkiye)


How the information is made available

Access to EMWIS is open to everyone interested in water management issues. The wide availability of Internet makes it the ideal access and exchange tool. Thanks to Internet, users can easily find the information they are looking for, and active exchange and discussion is facilitated.

The EMWIS website is multilingual – currently available in English, French and Arabic, it is open to other languages.

In addition, each partner country manages its own information server,providing access to national information and know-how. All of these serversare connected via Internet, but the user can search for information using asingle access point, i.e. the International Focal Point. Each National Focal Point is responsible for identifying and guaranteeing quality and access to information sources. The only information sources accessible via the system are those approved by EMWIS.